Emily Columpsi

"The art of teaching is the art of assisting discovery" -Mark Van Doren

What Runs The World? CODES

Coding (also known as scripting or programming) is a hot topic right now. Constantly, we hear of new initiatives to get kids coding, and in fact is it becoming an increasingly important skill to have. But what exactly is ‘coding’? Quite simply, coding is telling a computer or device what you want it to do, which involves typing in step-by-step commands (like a list of instructions) for the computer/device to follow. The world runs on code. Every time you use a mobile phone, a calculator or even a microwave, a code is being run. That being said, it is fair to say that code powers our digital world because without programmers/coders writing that code, or that set of instructions, computers would be incapable of providing you with anything –they would simply just it there and do nothing.

We live a world that is becoming more and more reliant on technology. That being said, coding is extremely important. We need coders to keep on telling computers what to do and how to perform these tasks that we see as complex, yet useful. In the end, as our reliance on technology grows, our understanding of how things work needs to ultimately grow too because computers, well they are not going anywhere.

Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 5.14.04 PM

It was stated by our professor, Alec Couros, last week that coding provides children with some really important skills and a way of looking at the world. However, my question is, how do you incorporate coding in the classroom? As part of our discussion as a class, Alec introduced us to a kid-friendly computer programming language called Scratch. Scratch is a free programming language that allows you to make stories, animations and games. As part of our learning we were all encouraged to try out this program. I have never coded before so this was going to be interesting.

Due to the fact that I was very unfamiliar with this program and coding in general, this became a very time consuming task for me. As well, I found this to be very frustrating because 1) I could not get the music to work and 2) sometimes I could not get the sprite to move the way I wanted it to. Even though I had difficulties I was able to come up with a simple code for my sprite; however, there is still no sound. If anyone knows how I can fix this please help me out! Anyways, you can watch my sprite dance (more of a glide really) and unfortunately not sing under the spotlight here. As you will see, this is not very well done, but for someone with my technical abilities this is not that bad. I definitely need to work on this coding…

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

