Emily Columpsi

"The art of teaching is the art of assisting discovery" -Mark Van Doren

“The Infinite Game”

I have always been into TEDTalks. I find the short (18 minutes or less) conferences to be very powerful and meaningful, as the topics that are covered relate to our lives in one-way or another. I scour through different TED Talk videos every once in a while, but now that we are in a time when technology is advancing so quickly (and being in ECMP 455) I thought I would look for videos that relate to technology.

There are a multitude of videos on technology, but this one in particular stood out to me because of the title: How Technology Evolves. As I read the little blurb about the video I was intrigued in how the speaker, Kevin Kelly, was going to relate the Evolution of Technology to the Evolution of Life itself. Before watching the video in its entirely I was a little skeptical about his theory. How can the evolution of technology be related to the evolution of life? Well I was about to find out.

Throughout the video the speaker made valid points that we in ECMP 455 have already addressed and justified. For instance, technology brings us differences, diversity, options, choices, opportunities, possibilities and freedoms. Simply put, we all continue to grab at technology because we want differences, choices etc. In this way, the speaker states that technology is accelerating evolution. It is accelerating the way in which we search for ideas. This is undoubtedly true, and as Kevin Kelly puts it, creates something called “the infinite game, “ since we all want to keep playing. Technology is a way to explore and create more possibilities and opportunities. Therefore, as Kelly states, “We need to embrace technology because it is an essential part of our journey in finding out who we are as humans.”

I end this post with the question that Kelly asked in the very beginning of his conference. What does technology mean in your life? For me, I am still trying to figure that out. As well, what does technology want? Thoughts?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

