Emily Columpsi

"The art of teaching is the art of assisting discovery" -Mark Van Doren

Face-To-Face

I am very thankful that we took the time to actually meet face-to-face this week. Coming from a very limited technology background, I benefited from having the professor in the room, as it was easier to ask questions and than visually see the response. As well, I really enjoyed the conversation and the questions that were brought up during class. For some reason I felt more confident asking questions in the classroom than I did online. Part of this is because I feel very insecure online since I am afraid of messing up, hitting the wrong button or breaking something (which is why most of us like to meet up in one place and do the class “together,” aka Hillary’s house).

Unfortunately, it has been over a year since I last looked at my blog, so having a full on tutorial really jerked my memory on both old and new skills. Most of the time, I need to visually see the process before I can comprehend or understand how it works, so I really benefited from the face-to-face discussions. I like to think that I am independent, but when it comes to technology and understanding its complexities I know this is not the case. As I mentioned in my Flipgrid video, I usually shy away from technology because it is an area where I do not feel comfortable with at all. That being said, I do ask a lot questions, but that is how I learn. However, I am starting to realize that technology is not as scary as it may seem. Yes, it may take some time to get comfortable with a certain program, but most programs now have step-by-step instructions on how to properly use it, which for me is mathematically great.

I am really looking forward to what is to come. I am totally open to new challenges and possibilities when it comes to using technology. That being said, get ready for my millions of questions!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

